Another Hiatus(?)

Another Hiatus pic

Four weeks always seemed like a ridiculously long time to break from school for the holidays, but the moment I arrived back for spring term, I didn’t think it was enough. I believe idle hands are indeed the devil’s playthings, but for that time, I kind of liked being under the radar, with few expectations to meet.

This is probably my third blogging “hiatus” (quotation marks because I’ll probably compose blogs to procrastinate) I’ve initiated since starting this whole thing. While talking frantically on the phone with my sister earlier this week, I verbally weighed all the responsibilities I had in front of me for the semester, and which one(s) I might need to consider dropping altogether in order to keep myself from going insane.

Out of the Three Cornerstone S’s of Sanity – School, Social Life, and Sleep – I’ve been told since high school I could only choose two.

What dear sis told me is that during her final semester, one of her psych classes took the backseat when it came down to it. She put more of her energy into her other classes and friendships and didn’t regret it.

I like this idea of not eliminating an important aspect of one’s life entirely because of something as non-trivial as a class. I’ve turned down a lot of “playtime” within the last few years in favor of working ahead on something else. My college experience has been good for the most part, but I often wonder how some of the outcomes might have been different had I put less weight on the “more important” stuff.

In between writing-intensive classes, a directed research opportunity, my Conan internship, my editorial job, tuition and bill payments, the pre-graduation job hunt, my strangely increasing love for anything and everything journalistic-related, and general pretending that I’m cool as a cucumber in the midst of it all, I would like to think that I can learn to be okay if I don’t perform perfectly in all these areas.

In some respects, perhaps I consider these last 14 weeks a final marathon. I’ve run a steady course prior to the break, and slipped off my running shoes and put on some cozy slippers during the last few weeks. I may not always have been the best runner, but I never stopped. And now it’s time to lace up again.

It’s also time to swap the teas for coffee. Time to welcome back the back pains that accompany my having to hunch over a laptop while working on multiple things at once. Time to reset my morning alarm to 6AM instead of the 8AM I enjoyed over break, as to fit in a morning workout before joining the rest of the world’s routine. Time to set aside my book list in favor of a more comprehensive to-do list, and time to go all in for the home stretch. And then finally, FINALLY I can rest easy after graduation.

Just kidding, then I have to be an actual adult.

Leave a Reply

