Relative

Relative pic

At Poundland today, I walked past a myriad of Cadbury chocolates being sold at discounted prices. On my way out of the Westgate shopping center, I passed a kiosk selling heart-shaped balloons. As I walked past a few restaurants, I glanced at a sign advertising a couple’s 7-course dinner with the starting price of £21. It must be that time of year again.

There are a few people in my study abroad program with significant others to Skype back home, but I of course am not one of them. I’m not going to write about how “lucky” I am that I don’t have to worry about that sort of thing while being away. I’m also not going to try to write about the benefits of being unattached. Nor am I going to dedicate this entry to moping about how chivalry is dead, because although it is hard to find, it’s certainly not dead.

In fact, this entry doesn’t have much to do with being single versus taken. I’m just kind of annoyed of having the whole if-you’re-single-don’t-worry-happiness-will-come-soon-in-the-form-of-a-relationship mentality hammered into my head. It’s especially prominent at small private schools, where I like to pass judgment among the girls who equate a request for a coffee date with matrimony.

Happiness is relative. Or as the song in You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown goes, “Happiness is anyone or anything at all that’s loved by you.” Right now, my friends are my happiness. My music preferences are my happiness. On a much lower level, free coffee is my happiness too.

Not that a significant other isn’t a form of happiness – it should be, if you have one and if you have proper respect for one another. But it’s not mine right now. And if you’re like me, you’ll know that it’s not a required component of achieving a healthy degree of happiness.

My point being, there are multiple sources of happiness. For example Valentine’s Day COULD be a depressing holiday if I thought about it for too long. My bigger point being…I’m going to Dublin this weekend!!!!!

And that right there again is my happiness.

Leave a Reply

